Of Dandelions and Manifestation

It can be easy and it can feel really, really good.

I remembered that last night.  I’d gotten away from my ritual challenge.  I’d been telling myself it was too hard, that I didn’t remember why I’d even wanted to do it.  But truly, I am nothing if not persistent.  Over time, I have always been greatly persistent.  I have had many ideas over the years (for writing novels, for helping others to create and understand ritual, for producing interfaith newsletters, etc.), and from one perspective you could say that I gave up on every one of those ideas, because to this day I have not fully manifested any of them.  I have tried, and when my efforts didn’t seem to be producing anything, I put down the efforts and the ideas, often saying to myself that it just wasn’t going to work, that maybe I’d had the wrong idea.

But I have been greatly persistent.  My ideas have been like dandelions: I can never fully get rid of them.  Just when I think they’ve all been mowed down, there they are again, popping up all over my lawn.  Their seeds fly to the wind and root somewhere else.  I just can’t stop wanting what I want!

If I truly respect that, then my next step is to harvest some of my ideas and turn them into something not only persistent but refined and useful.  Dandelion salad, dandelion wine, dandelion flower essence.  I’ve never created any of those things, but I could.  I could extract the yummy properties of these flowers and take what they are offering me to the next level.

Last night I attended an energy healing clinic at a local yoga studio.  I hadn’t even known it would be happening until it had already started, but my intuition told me to go, so I did.  I am so glad.  It was like stepping into a beautiful dream.  I realized that I could not have had that experience unless I had in some way attracted or manifested it.  It just wouldn’t have been part of my world unless something in me had already been pulling in that direction, whispering to me that this could exist.

My ideas would not be part of my world unless something in me was already pulling me in their direction, whispering to me that they can exist.

After getting home last night, I created a manifestation ritual for myself.  I finally cleaned out my bathtub and took a bath with some healing essence.  I lit a candle and re-read, out loud, the list I created last week of the things I want in my life.  As I sat in the warm water and let my body relax, I experienced viscerally the truth that manifestation can feel good.  It can feel just as easy as turning a corner or the next page in a book.  Suddenly, right there, is what I’ve wanted.  Why not let it be easy?  I would so much rather create out of joy than out of a dragging sense of obligation.

Today, I let myself exist in the joy of this world.  I trust my intuition.  What “tastes” good to me?  That is what I will create, and I will let it lead me on.

About Jayleigh

Drawing on experiences within women’s spirituality groups for the past ten years, as well as experiences of creating group ritual within these spaces, I am passionate about bringing the healing and enlivening power of ritual to individuals and communities. I believe that the roots of ceremony lie deep within all of us. Our bodies and hearts know these ancient ways of connecting with each other, with our deepest selves, and with our earth. My work centers around helping people remember ceremony and incorporate it into their lives. My business, Incorporating Ritual (www.incorporatingritual.com), is a vehicle through which I offer consultation services for creating self-designed ceremony as well as facilitation of ceremonies for life events personal and communal, large and small.
This entry was posted in Daily Ritual Challenge, Ritual in Daily Life, Self-Care Using Ritual and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

