Daily Ritual Challenge Day Two

(In case you’re wondering why Day One and Day Two are being posted on the same day: Day One was yesterday, but I wasn’t able to get it online then.)

This morning I woke up feeling overwhelmed by all I feel I need to do.  Get my life in order.  Be abundant.  Connect with others.  Do my taxes.  I realized that my thoughts were defeating me before I’d even begun doing anything (before I’d even gotten out of bed!), and even making it difficult for me to decide what my daily ritual challenge would be.

So, I decided to use ritual to work with my thoughts.

I wrote down all of the defeating thoughts I could think of, the ones that were spiraling through my mind.  They’re real, they’re here, and I might as well name them.

These are some pretty strong thoughts.  “I’m not the kind of person who can do this.”  “No one wants what I have.”  “It’s going to take too long.”  Etc.  Repeating these thoughts to myself on a regular basis has been a kind of ritual in itself, but an unconscious one.  It has created a certain kind of reality for me, a reality boxed in by the thoughts.  It is as if I have been creating a temple inside my mind, but instead of hanging beautiful fabric and inspirational pictures on the walls, instead of placing objects inside that remind me of my soul’s purpose, I have been spraying graffiti on the walls and placing garbage on the tables.  We are affected by what we surround ourselves with.  And I didn’t even know I was doing this!

I knew I couldn’t simply throw out this piece of paper with all the thoughts written down on it.  It isn’t realistic to think I can wish these thoughts away, as much as I might desire to.  I knew I had to find a way to transform the energy of the thoughts so that it could work for me and not against me.  After all, if the energy of my belief in these thoughts has been so strong that it could create an entire reality for me, a reality which I have lived within for a long time, I want to use that same energy of belief to create a reality where something different is true.

I cut the paper into strips, with one defeating thought on each strip.  Then, I folded the strips, telling myself as I did so that I was folding away the content of the thoughts but keeping their strength.  I arranged the strips on the floor so that they spelled out a new message: “I CAN”.

I’m going to keep this on my floor for a while.  What changes will this five minute ritual bring into my life?  Stay tuned…

About Jayleigh

Drawing on experiences within women’s spirituality groups for the past ten years, as well as experiences of creating group ritual within these spaces, I am passionate about bringing the healing and enlivening power of ritual to individuals and communities. I believe that the roots of ceremony lie deep within all of us. Our bodies and hearts know these ancient ways of connecting with each other, with our deepest selves, and with our earth. My work centers around helping people remember ceremony and incorporate it into their lives. My business, Incorporating Ritual (www.incorporatingritual.com), is a vehicle through which I offer consultation services for creating self-designed ceremony as well as facilitation of ceremonies for life events personal and communal, large and small.
This entry was posted in Daily Ritual Challenge, Ritual in Daily Life, Self-Care Using Ritual and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

